"First in Baseball, First in the Garden State"
Our new sponsor - Cheap Timberland Boots USA, All White Timberland Boots
Player Profiles Online
Archives

Ask the Ump – Play 15

Play:A batter swings at a third strike, the ball hits the dirt, and the catcher catches it cleanly off the bounce. Does the catcher have to tag the batter or throw to 1st in order to record the out?

Ruling: Yes, provided there are less than two outs with no runner on 1st base, or there are two outs and 1st base is occupied. Both the Rules of Major League Baseball (MLB) and the National Federation of High Schools (NFHS) rules agree in this case.

Both rules specify that the batter is out when a third strike is caught, or if, after a third strike is caught, the batter or 1st base is tagged before the batter-runner touches 1st base. Additionally, MLB defines that a third strike is “legally caught” when the ball is “in the catcher’s glove before it touches the ground.” The NFHS defines a “catch” generally as getting secure possession in the hand or glove “of a live ball in flight.”

Sources: MLB 6-05 (b), 6.05 (j); NFHS 2.9.1, 8.4.1 (e), 8.4.1 (f)

New Jersey Baseball & New Jersey Baseball Online are your original source for stories about the human interest side of baseball. Coverage ranges from travel team baseball and showcase tournaments to girls’ softball and women’s fast pitch to recruits and prospects; health & nutrition; sportsmanship; the best batting cages & baseball training academies, women in baseball, youth baseball baseball history, sports officiating and umpiring, field maintenance, mens' amateur baseball, and many others. NJB is also your first and best source for baseball rules and interpretations through our unique Ask The Ump feature.

 

Support Our Sponsors!
Our Old Website?
Looking for a link to our old website?

>Click Here!!!